The Images of Ashala

_MG_4795-2 Sunset at Pismo Pier

(To view these images in full size, click on image)

In nature photography, you never really know what the conditions will be for a shoot.  You can plan and plan, but when it comes right down to it, you never know what the universe will hand you in terms of light.   The other night I headed for Pismo Beach thinking that, since I was in the area, it might be a chance for a great sunset.   When I arrived I was greeted with a rather drab sky and the sun about to set in 10 minutes.  I almost did not take equipment out of the car thinking it would be a waste of time.

I saw some surfers out in the water and thought maybe I could get a good sillhouette shot.  I proceeded to schlep my equipment down to the waters edge.  And as the sun was setting the most amazing sunset and colors happened.  All I could say was “Oh, My God, Oh, My God.”   When I saw the Christmas tree light up at the end of the pier, it turned out to be an exceptional day of shooting.  I am not sure where all the photographers were, but there was not another soul with a camera on the beach but myself.  Maybe they all thought it would be a drab sunset, too.

I took a lot of time exposures as it got darker and when the water finally started creeping up and covering the soles of my shoes I decided it was time to pack it up.  Am so grateful for a great night of shooting an awesome sunset on the California Central Coast.  Nature and seascape photography never ceases to amaze me.

_MG_4804-2 Christmas on Pismo Pier

_MG_4808-2 Christmas on Pismo Pier

For copies or use of these and other images, email:   ashala7@gmail.com

View my website:  www.ashalaTylor.com and http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashala

 

 

Comments on: "Nature and Seascape Photography is Full of Surprises" (2)

  1. These are beautiful pictures. WOW! Great job.

  2. Three beautiful images in any season, but especially at this time of year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

