The Images of Ashala

Ashala Tylor Images

Klamath River Whale Harassment

Yesterday I went over to see how the Klamath River whale was doing.  Everything was as it had been on every other day – throngs of people lining the bridge to see the once-in-a-lifetime view of a whale in a river.  The gentle giant was doing her usual swim and spout around and under the bridge.   I noticed a young man in an inner tube floating near her.  From a photographer’s eye, I thought that would be a great picture just from the size disparity.   I took a few images, but then what I saw next was very upsetting.  The above boat came and picked up the inner tube floater and proceeded to race up to and around the whale getting dangerously close to her.  The crowd on the bridge yelled down at them to stop and to leave the whale alone.  They continued on with their harassment of her and then when they were through they raced off past the crowd, under the bridge and flipped everyone off.

The Federal Marine Mammal Protection Act prohibits humans from harassing whales and other marine mammals.  100 yard distance is being blatantly ignored.

I have been documenting the whales journey since mom and her calf arrived over a month ago.  Many images of these beautiful mammals can be seen at http://www.flickr.com/photos/ashala.  email: ashala7@gmail.com            (TO VIEW IMAGES FULL SIZE, CLICK ON THE IMAGE)

Ashala Tylor Images

Ashala Tylor Images

After Harassing the Whale They Sped Off

Ashala Tylor Images
Ashala Tylor Images

Klamath River Whale Harassment


Comments on: "Klamath River Whale Harassment – Daily Whale Update" (6)

  1. I seen the harrassment that day too, called NOAA and hopefully they will stop it

  2. thats frusterating. hopefully she leaves soon, but I am very worried about her, she doesn’t look good at all

  3. Thanks, it was nice to meet you. We are thinking of coming to Trinnidad soon, I will let you know. I will have my new camera on Tuesday, so maybe I will be able to play up there with it. On the way home I found a herd of Elk not far from Trinnadad

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

